Tuesday 5 November 2019

Volkswagen Motorsport retires Beetle from Rallycross.

After five years Volkswagen Motorsport has confirmed that it will be retiring the Volkswagen Beetle R from the Americas Rallycross scene. 

The popular VW Beetle R has been one the most successful rallycross cars of its era, winning 29 of the 52 races entered across Global Rallycross, X Games, Americas Rallycross, and Nitro Rallycross. 

The Beetle's success story started in 2015 when Scott Speed claimed the GRC drivers' championship. In 2016 and 2017, he repeated that feat, with Foust finishing runner-up and the Manufacturer title going to Volkswagen in both years. Speed also claimed a prestigious victory in the Rallycross competition at the X Games in Austin (Texas).

After GRC folded in 2018, American Rallycross took its place and the Beetle continued its dominant run with Scott Speed claiming his fourth championship and Tanner Foust finishing in second. 

In 2019, Tanner Foust fended off the Subaru Motorsport and claimed the ARX title, bringing a fitting end to the success story of the VW Beetle R Supercar. 

Five drivers' titles were won in a row and two Manufacturer championships.

"Adapting such a loveable car as the Beetle for the contact sport that is Rallycross was by no means an everyday task for us," says Sven Smeets, Volkswagen Motorsport Director.

"With four-wheel drive and 560 PS under the bonnet, the Beetle raced its way into the history books of US motorsport. Congratulations to the Volkswagen Andretti Motorsport team, which was virtually unbeatable with the Beetle for five years."

Written By - Junaid Samodien

No comments:

Post a Comment