Wednesday 12 May 2021

Höljes to stage one-off electric Superteam Challenge with the world's best drivers.

PHOTO CREDIT: RallyX Nordic.
A legendary line-up of rallycross stars will go head-to-head in a one-off RX2e Superteam Challenge at the upcoming RallyX Nordic meeting in Höljes (on 13 to 16 May).

World Rallycross title winners Johan Kristoffersson and Timmy Hansen will be joined by, among others, multiple World Rally Champion Marcus Grönholm for the inaugural Superteam Challenge. 

Oliver Eriksson, 2020 RallyX Nordic Supercar Champion, and double RX2 champion will also be in the mix alongside RX Lites title-winners Kevin Hansen and Kevin Eriksson while World RX race winners Andreas Bakkerud and Sebastian Eriksson complete the star-studded driver pool.

The eight drivers will be split into four teams, with each pair sharing a brand new RX2e car that is set to be used in the 2021 FIA RX2e Championship. 

PHOTO CREDIT: RallyX Nordic.
The electric RX2e vehicles, generate 250kW (335bhp) of power and up to 510Nm torque, and will be showcased in four heats and two finals as the world’s best rallycross/rally racers do battle.

Renowned rallycross commentator Andrew Coley will be tasked with drawing out the team pairings, and he is well-aware of the potentially explosive partnerships he could create and is equally excited about the new technology on display.

"I’m looking forward to seeing the RX2e cars head-to-head for a number of reasons; first and foremost the driver line up! Who doesn’t want to see a legend like Marcus Gronholm going up against Kristoffersson, the Hansens, Bakkerud, the Erikssons?!," Coley said.

"But aside from that, I’ve been lucky enough to see electric rallycross cars run on several occasions, but we’ve rarely seen them racing in a close pack, so this should be great fun and a proper demonstration of the technology."

The Superteam Challenge heats and finals will slot into the packed RallyX Nordic schedule, with on-track action at Höljes getting underway on Thursday (13 May) at 9:15am (CET) and continuing on until Sunday (16 May).

No comments:

Post a Comment