Thursday 7 June 2018

The FIA World Rallycross championship goes electric.

PHOTO CREDIT: FIA World Rallycross
The World Motorsport Council (WMSC) have today approved the transformation of the current FIA World Rallycross Championship into the FIA Electric World Rallycross Championship from 2020.

The sporting format of the events (12 to 14 per season) will remain identical to the current format (practice, four qualifying heats, two semi-finals and one final), with with both manufacturers and privateers eligible to take part. 

The WMSC outlined that privateers entrants may homologate their own cars, on the condition that they use the common battery and chassis, and design their bodywork from a generic car model required by the FIA.

Williams has been designated as the "Single Battery Supplier", while Oreca have will be the "Single Chassis Supplier" to the series. Both suppliers were awarded the contract from 2020 to 2023. 

The 2020 FIA World Rallycross cars will remain four-wheel drive ‘Silhouette-type’ cars, but will have the addition of two electric motors (one front and one rear), 500kW, a common battery and a common chassis. "The “powertrain” regulations are derived from those applicable for Formula E cars, with some restrictions aimed at controlling costs and development," says the FIA WMSC press release.

Only two-car teams are eligable to score points for the Drivers and Manufacturers Championships. "Four best results among cars from each Manufacturer per event to count towards the Manufacturers’ Championship classification."

The WMSC have also announced the creation of a Team Trophy, for privateer teams.

No comments:

Post a Comment