Wednesday, 9 November 2022

PREVIEW: An icon returns as World RX reaches it's conclusion at the Nürburgring.

An icon returns, as the 2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship reaches its conclusion at the legendary Nürburgring this weekend.

GCK Motorsport’s Lancia Delta Evo-e RX, based on the legendary Lancia Delta Integrale will make it's competitive debut this weekend, with four-time World Freeriding Champion and experienced rallycross racer Guerlain Chicherit behind the wheel.

Another new addition to the all-electric grid will be the FIA European Rallycross Champion Anton Marklund. The Swede will take to the track in ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport’s SEAT Ibiza, as he targets a full-time return to the international pinnacle of the sport.

Chicherit and Marklund, however, will face some pretty stiff opposition at the Nürburgring, led by the newly crowned five-time World Champion Johan Kristoffersson. Fired-up following his Saturday disappointment in Spain, the Swede lapped a full second quicker than any of his rivals in Sunday’s SuperPole session – and now the title is safely in the bag, he aims to use the German race weekend for testing. "We will do some testing on my car, things we haven't been able to try as long as the fight for the championship title was open," he said.

Fellow world champion Timmy Hansen manoeuvred himself into pole position to clinch the runner-up spoils in the standings by outscoring the rest of the field in Catalunya. As he returns to the circuit where last season, he came close to a second career crown on countback, the Hansen World RX Team ace is determined to end the campaign on a high.

Behind Hansen, there is a tense three-way scrap for third place in the standings between Niclas Grönholm, Kevin Hansen and Ole Christian Veiby. 

Grönholm – now racing for Construction Equipment Dealer Team – was a winner in Germany last year, with the younger Hansen brother following him home. 

Veiby arguably has the fastest car of the three, but has suffered from a run of technical issues in recent rounds that he hopes is now in the past.

Impressive rookie Gustav Bergström has rarely been far from the pace – reaching the podium on three consecutive occasions in Belgium and Spain – while fellow rookie Klara Andersson returned to the final in Catalunya. She won a heat at the Nürburgring in the FIA RX2e Championship last yaer, and has her sights set on a repeat of her Portuguese podium this weekend.


Timmy Hansen and Johan Kristoffersson, who will both receive a free set of Cooper Tires for the season finale. 


Volkswagen Dealerteam BAUHAUS: Johan Kristoffersson and Ole Christian Veiby

Hansen World RX Team: Timmy Hansen and Kevin Hansen

Construction Equipment Dealer Team: Niclas Gronholm and Klara Andersson (first gender equal team.)


Based around the Mullenbachsleife section of the famous Grand Prix circuit, the Nürburgring’s 1,029m rallycross track, which was officially launched in 2020.

The start line – the highest point of the rallycross track – is located at Turn 6 of the Grand Prix circuit, with a 90-degree right-hand corner to begin the lap. The start section is only used once, against the flow of the track, with the Turn 1 right-hander being a left-hander for the racing lap.

The rallycross track drops down steeply after Turn 2, transitioning from unsealed to sealed surfaces using part of the Grand Prix circuit’s asphalt, before a second unsealed section at Turn 3, with the Joker Lap section running around the outside of the Turn 4 left-hander.

The circuit has an elevation change of more than 15 meters over the course of the lap and gradients of up to 12%, with almost the whole track lined by grandstands to guarantee fans an unrivaled viewing experience.

Track Length: 1,029m

Previous Winner: Johan Kristoffersson (KYB EKS JC)

Fastest lap: 34.649s - Johan Kristoffersson (Q1)


Joker Lap Loss: 3.4 seconds (approximately)


The Qualifying heats will be renamed Heat 1, Heat 2, Heat 3 instead of Q1, Q2, Q3. There will be three heats only as opposed to the four that have existed over the last eight years. Heat 1 starting positions will be decided following a Superpole timed session instead of a draw.

Heat 4 will be replaced by a Progression Race to add one more decisive stage in the progress of the event towards access to the Semi-Finals. Starting position distribution for this Progression Race will be determined according to ranking after the 3 Heats. The Final phase remains with Semi-Finals and a Final, but with five-car starts. The highest qualified driver will have a free of starting position. Other changes include five laps in all races (Qualifying, Progression Race, Semi-Finals, Final) and no use of the Joker Lap allowed in Lap 1 if the Joker Lap is in Corner No.1.

CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS (for 2022 onwards):

Championship points will be awarded based on the final  classification on the Competition on the following basis: 

1st: 20 points

2nd: 16 points

3rd: 13 points

4th: 12 points

5th: 11 points

6th: 10 points

7th: 9 points

8th: 8 points

9th: 7 points

10th: 6 points

11th: 5 points

12th: 4 points

13th: 3 points

14th: 2 point

15th: 1 point

- The Teams’ Championship is open to World Championship teams fielding two cars, and includes all points scored by both of the team’s drivers at each event.

*The second Munnich Motorsport Seat Ibiza RX1e is currently being built.

2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship Standings (Drivers):
DRIVERS CHAMPION - Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Dealerteam BAUHAUS) 162 points
Timmy Hansen (Hansen World RX Team) 123 pts
Niclas Gronholm (CE Dealer Team) 114 pts
Kevin Hansen (Hansen World RX Team) 112 pts
Ole Christian Veiby (Volkswagen Dealerteam BAUHAUS) 112 pts
Gustav Bergstrom (Kristoffersson Motorsport) 98 pts
Klara Andersson (CE Dealer Team) 92 pts
Rene Munnich (ALL-INLK Munnich Motorsport) 78 pts

2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship Standings (Teams):
TEAMS CHAMPIONS - Volkswagen Dealerteam BAUHAUS 274 points
Hansen World RX Team 235 pts
Construction Equipment Dealer Team 206 pts


HEAT 1: 13:29
HEAT 2: 15:14
STUDIO/PADDOCK: 16:47 [RX+ only]

GRID WRAP UP SHOW: 18:00 [RX+ only]

All of the on-track entertainment and off-track features will be broadcast live on RX+. Event passes are available for €7,99, with the full season pass on sale for €49,99. More information can be found here.

No comments:

Post a Comment