Friday, 10 July 2020

Three-Way Fight For Glory in World RX Esports Finale.

PHOTO CREDIT: Hansen Motorsport.
The first-ever World RX Esports series champion will be crowned this weekend as the series finale comes to a close, with three drivers in the hunt for the title.

Reigning FIA World Rallycross Champion Timmy Hansen is top of the standings thanks to consistency throughout the Esports season so far, but he is yet to win a race in the series.

Six points behind Hansen in the standings is Tom Blomqvist, the winner of round two at Hell in Norway. Third, in the standings is Kevin Hansen six points behind Blomqvist and could mount a title challenge with a strong performance this weekend.

Shane van Gisbergen will return to action after missing a round due to clashes with the Austrian V8 Supercars Championship. The New Zealander dominated round one at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi and then finished second to Blomqvist in Norway. But, despite missing a round he remained fourth in the standings. 

The winner from round three Jonathan Pailler also returns. Pailler caused an upset at Holjes with victory on his World RX Esports debut. Henrik Krogstad is another driver, like Timmy Hansen, who has been in recent real-life competition and has been a strong performer in the World RX Esports series so far. He will also be in the podium hunt.

World Rally Championship round-winner Hayden Paddon will return to make his third start, while Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy racer Simon Evans will make his World RX Esports debut appearance.

Like Van Gisbergen, Australian Supercars driver Scott Pye missed round three but is back for the series finale, together with former Ferrari Formula 1 driver Mika Salo. Oliver Bennett will make his Esports return as one of two BMW Minis on the grid, together with anther British driver, Max Coates. 

Blancpain GT star David Perel and GT racer, Jordan Pepper, both driving Peugeot 208s will fly the South African flag in the series finale on the Killarney circuit.  

Included in the line-up is Orhan Avcioglu, Tessa Whittock, Matvey Furahzkin, Sivert Svardal, Fail Race, and Marius Bermingrud who complete the 20-driver Pro line-up.

Meanwhile, in the Sim category Killian Dall’olmo, the DiRT 2.0 Rallycross World Champion, leads the standings in the Sim category by a single point over older brother Quentin Dall’olmo entering the final round decider. Lukas Mateja will be a victory contender in the season finale and is third in the points.

The event will be comprised of 22 races and form a two-and-a-half-hour show starting at 13:30 UK / 15:30 CAT on 12 July and available on World RX Facebook and YouTube, as well as on  SuperSport.

1. Timmy Hansen (SWE) 73
2. Tom Blomqvist (GBR) 67
3. Kevin Hanssen (SWE) 61
4. Shane van Gisbergen (NZL) 55
5. Henrik Krogstad (NOR) 52
1. Killian Dall’olmo (FRA) 37
2. Quentin Dall’olmo (FRA) 36
3. Lukas Mateja (CZE) 25
4. John Harris (GBR) 23
5. Daniel Johansson (SWE) 11

No comments:

Post a Comment